Between a crib and a hard place

I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a while—life has been a little crazier than usual. We’re in the middle of some financial difficulties. I’ll spare you the details, but suffice it to say that things have changed for us in major ways. It’s not just simple stuff—like having to limit my random expenditures or to make my own coffee instead of stopping at Starbucks (I do that anyway!). I have to cross things…lots of things…off our grocery list (meat, organic anything, everything unnecessary). I layer and wash the same few outfits over and over instead of buying new clothes for our growing boys. In general, I just don’t spend money unless absolutely essential.

My husband is working pretty much all hours (evenings and weekends) when I’m not at work, and I’m working multiple jobs outside of my main one. Anytime I’m not working at the office or to the beat of an aerobics CD, I’m with the kids. This translates into little time for me and even less time for blogging…especially because the housework just keeps falling further and further behind.

Don’t worry. We’re okay…just a little busier than normal.

So, in the name of saving time, which is the theme of my life right now, I thought I’d share a short update…

Co-sleeping update

My toddler son would rather fall asleep soaked in both his own and my or my husband’s sweat than to fall asleep alone. He has to have some physical connection (a leg, arm, etc.) to one of my or my husband’s body parts in order to fall or stay asleep. (See photo.) And, he still can’t sleep without a pacifier (which we do not even allow as an option in the daytime!) After nearly 17 whole months (since his birth) of trying variations of bassinets…and cribs…and crib mattresses on the floor without the crib, my son still has yet to sleep a single night by himself, without the presence of me or my husband. Really.

And, yes, we have tried…and tried…and tried. There have been tears and screams, hours of them some nights, sometimes coming from both toddler and parents…well, mama at least.

One day, we just stopped fighting it. We both figure that when he’s old enough to understand that it’s way uncool to sleep with us, he’ll eventually sleep in his own bed. Fingers crossed. (Can you please cross yours too? I could use some extra help in this area.)

Until I find another free moment, take care!

Posted on September 25, 2011, in All about Baby, Parenting, The Balancing Act and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Dear Nikki! I am sorry to hear about the financial difficulties! I hope things get better soon. Do you have support from family? My parents were a great help to me when things got tough.

    As you know, I’ve tried just about everything too. My whole freaking blog is devoted to it!
    Have you read this post, which I hope might help you out? http://angelsofbabysleep.wordpress.com/2011/06/20/the-transfer-part-3/
    Despite some success, I’m still co-sleeping too. Some nights, he stays in his crib 4 hours (or more!) before I pick him up and bring him to my bed. Other nights, it’s a lot less. We just roll with the punches.

    Miraculously, the night I stopped trying so hard with my son was when things started turning around. I’m sure your little guy will find his way to independent sleeping too.

    Love the photo! He is in sleepy bliss. How can we blame them for wanting to snuggle, right? It all works out in the end.

Leave a Reply

