What to do when the world doesn’t end: Some questions to ask

I have to admit I held my breath for a second around 6PM yesterday. No, I wasn’t clinging to a bible at the time. And yes, I was 99.99% sure that the predicted rapture was a bunch of bunk. Still, you never can be too sure, right?

Although by 6:15 or so last night, thoughts about “judgment day” were long gone for me, I did give a little attention to the idea of my world ending. Because, really, whatever our religious beliefs, the truth is that any of our worlds could end anytime, any day. Sad but true, everything we do could come to a crashing halt, and everything we love could be taken away in any given moment. And, in ways, that’s a good thing…because it makes us value all we have even more when we know it won’t last forever.

While I don’t advocate devoting hours upon hours pondering worst-case scenarios, sometimes I wonder if I spend enough time reflecting on life in this way. Things like the idea of the world ending, someone close to me passing away, serious illness, or close-call accidents give me pause about how I am spending the limited time I have in this world. They remind me that my days are numbered. And, they cause me to ask myself a few questions.

To celebrate the day the world didn’t end, I thought I’d make a list of things to ask myself at the end of the day or at least every once in a while. Here’s what I came up with:

Who do I value the most in my life? Do I remind them of that with my words and actions?

What are my values, goals, and priorities? Does the way I spend my time align with them?

What are some important discoveries or memories I’ve made recently that I want to be sure to remember? How can I record them so I don’t forget?

What mistakes have I made lately? What can I learn from them? How can I do better next time?

My goal with today’s post wasn’t to bring anybody (or myself!) down. It was the opposite really. I just wanted to point out that every now and then it may be worth spending a few minutes reflecting on what’s important and asking ourselves if we’re making the most of our lives. That’s all. Cheers to another day!

Posted on May 22, 2011, in The Balancing Act and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

