Official Survivor of Another Holiday without Husband or Family

Phew! Finally. Both kids are in bed, and mommy’s about to follow suit. I’m proud to say I made it through the holiday weekend, which, for me, started Thursday night. If you are a church musician or in close company with one, you know the madness of Christmas and Easter. For my husband, the hours upon hours of rehearsals and services (and the commutes to and fro) began on Thursday evening and ended late tonight (he still isn’t home). I’ve seen him about two hours total over the past 72 hours, and it’s been rough! That, on top of living hundreds of miles away from any family, can make the holidays, especially with a baby, challenging.

But, yes, we made it through..and with flying colors actually! Even Easter itself went pretty well considering I was limited on the family factor on a typically family-oriented day. I thought I’d share a few of the successes…

During baby’s morning nap, I made two dishes to bring to Easter brunch at a friend’s house. Without knowing how long baby would stay down, I started with a simple fruit salad, which is my standard response to bring-a-dish-to-share events. I vary the types of fruit I use, but this is what it looked like today…

Fruit Salad

Ingredients:

1/2 cantaloupe

1 medium green or yellow apple ( I used Mutsu)

1 medium red apple (I used Fuji)

1 lemon (or equivalent of lemon juice)

1 cup large green grapes—halved

1 cup small red grapes

6 oz pack blueberries

6 oz pack raspberries

Instructions:

  1. Wash all fruit.
  2. Cut cantaloupe into cubes and place in large bowl.
  3. Dice apples and add to bowl.
  4. Squeeze juice from half of lemon over mixture. Stir.
  5. Cut green grapes in half and add to bowl.
  6. Add red grapes and blueberries. Stir well.
  7. Add raspberries and juice from rest of lemon. Stir gently. *Because the raspberries are fragile, they should go in last after everything else has been mixed thoroughly.

And, voilá! Yummy fruit salad that serves 12 (comfortably, with generous portions.) And, the lemon juice keeps everything from turning brown. Even after sitting out on a dessert table for about 30 minutes, all the fruits kept their bright colors!

Dish #1 accomplished, and still not a peep from the baby monitor! Onto dish #2…

Zucchini Bake

I got this one from a friend and fellow blogger. You can find the recipe at http://primalbree.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/zucchinis-bake-and-sprinting/.

I have to be honest about this though. Although I had good intentions to stick with the original recipe, as is the norm for me and cooking, I kind of messed it up. This time, I’ll blame in on the EXTREME rush I was in due to the unpredictability of baby’s naps. Knowing it was only a matter of minutes before baby was up and needing to be fed, changed, and entertained, I was working as fast as possible!

Here are the amendments I made (under pressure) to the original recipe (link above):

  1. One intentional change: because one of the two families attending the brunch was vegetarian, I substituted veggie sausage (made mostly from soy) for the pork. (And, I believe this completely removed the primal-ness from the recipe. Bree, I hope you’re not offended!)
  2. After dumping one pound of the zucchini in my largest pan, the pan was full, and baby was stirring. In a pinch, I decided to half the zucchini.
  3. I totally forgot to heed the moisture reminder and did not paper towel the zucchini.
  4. Because I took out a whole pound of zucchini, I decided I needed to make up for the space; so, I added an extra egg. (Plus, I was excited about my newfound knowledge on the health benefits of eggs.)
  5. I used an 8” X 8” pan—because that’s all I had!
  6. I took it out of the oven three minutes early because it was browning (probably due to all the mistakes I made in the recipe!)

And, in spite of all those changes, it still came out AMAZING! Bree, I’m proposing a new name: can we call this “Never Fail Zucchini Bake”? (The only minor problem I had—again, likely due to my inability to follow a recipe—was it stuck to the pan. Next time I’ll butter it.) Everyone at the brunch (folks covering three generations starting at 10 months old) LOVED it! Thanks again, Bree, for sharing!

And, finally…

Tie-Dye Easter Eggs

Before we left for brunch, stepson and I finished coloring the eggs we started last night using a low-mess process I found online: http://familyfun.go.com/crafts/tie-dye-easter-eggs-670296/. (If you’re not into bowls of color that tip and splash, then try this one out. Basically, you place eggs in a colander in the sink, splatter vinegar on them for the tie-dye effect, add a drop of food color to each egg, shake, and then add a different color. Done.)

All of that before brunch and with mommy flying solo! Thankfully, I had food, friends, and a long walk to the park to help me recover from the morning flurry. I’m glad Easter only happens once a year!

Posted on April 24, 2011, in Nutrition & Recipes, Parenting, The Balancing Act and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Definitely not offended, but you are right, not nearly as primal! 🙂 Glad that everyone liked the recipe…and I LOVE the proposed name!! Glad you had a great Easter!

  2. Hi Nikki! Love the tie dye eggs!

  1. Pingback: Fitting Fresh Fruits and Veggies into Your Life: Six Simple Tips « On Becoming Mommy

Leave a Reply

